I Can’t Wait For…Lost In The Moment and Found by Seanan McGuire

Posted 4th January 2023 by Sia in Can't-Wait Wednesday / 0 Comments

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted over at Wishful Endings to spotlight and discuss the books we’re excited about but haven’t yet read. Most of the time they’re books that have yet to be released, but not always. It’s based on the Waiting on Wednesday meme, which was originally hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine

This week my Can’t-Wait-For Book is Lost In The Moment and Found by Seanan McGuire!

Lost in the Moment and Found (Wayward Children, #8) by Seanan McGuire
Genres: Fantasy, Portal Fantasy
Published on: 10th January 2023

A young girl discovers an infinite variety of worlds in this standalone tale in the Hugo and Nebula Award-winning Wayward Children series from Seanan McGuire, Lost in the Moment and Found.

Welcome to the Shop Where the Lost Things Go.

If you ever lost a sock, you’ll find it here.If you ever wondered about favorite toy from childhood... it’s probably sitting on a shelf in the back.And the headphones that you swore that this time you’d keep safe? You guessed it….

Antoinette has lost her father. Metaphorically. He’s not in the shop, and she’ll never see him again. But when Antsy finds herself lost (literally, this time), she finds that however many doors open for her, leaving the Shop for good might not be as simple as it sounds.

And stepping through those doors exacts a price.

Lost in the Moment and Found tells us that childhood and innocence, once lost, can never be found.

I couldn’t think of what book to feature this week, just a few days after posting my Unmissable SFF of 2023 list – but then I realised: this post could work wonderfully as a last-minute reminder that we’re getting a new Wayward Children book next week!!!


If you’ve not heard of/read the Wayward Children series before, no worries, you are in for a TREAT! But this is probably not the ideal book to start with? Basically, there is a school for children and teens who have passed through portals to other worlds…and come, generally unwillingly, home again. Each book follows a different character or characters, and the publication order is not the same as the internal chronology of the series – the first one published, Every Heart a Doorway, is a) actually set after the events of books 2 and 4, and b) yes, absolutely where the name for this blog comes from!


I’d recommend starting with Every Heart a Doorway, even if it’s not chronologically first; for establishing the existence and rules of the school, and something of how the premise works, I don’t think there’s any better book to begin with. In the other books, you learn more about specific worlds and characters, but EHaD does a great job at giving you a 101 overview very quickly. (Also, you know. It’s excellent???)

I don’t recommend starting with Lost in the Moment and Found because McGuire has made it clear that this installment deals with very dark themes. EHaD does feature a murder, but there are worse things than murders; or at least, things that are much harder to read about. So I would work my way up to this one, if you’ve not read the series before.

For those of us who have read the series multiple times over, well… I’m a little nervous about this one, but I still can’t wait to read it. The new year doesn’t start until we have a new Wayward Children book, you know??? And this is the first we’ve heard of any character being able to pass through multiple Doors! I definitely need to know more about that.

But be gentle, pay attention to the trigger warnings at the start of the book, and look after yourself as is best for you. I will be available for virtual hugs, if hugs end up being required.

Luck and love!


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.