WWW Wednesday: 17th Feb

Posted 17th February 2021 by Siavahda in WWW Wednesday / 0 Comments

I’ve decided that, at least for the foreseeable future, I’m going to be participating in WWW Wednesdays, which is a meme hosted over at Taking On a World of Words. To take part, you just answer the three questions below, and link back to TOaWoW!

WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

The Echo Wife by Sarah Gailey
Genres: Sci Fi
Goodreads

The Echo Wife is a non-stop thrill ride, perfect for readers of Big Little Lies and enthusiasts of "Killing Eve" and "Westworld­"

Martine is a genetically cloned replica made from Evelyn Caldwell’s award-winning research. She’s patient and gentle and obedient. She’s everything Evelyn swore she’d never be. And she’s having an affair with Evelyn’s husband.

Now, the cheating bastard is dead, and the Caldwell wives have a mess to clean up. Good thing Evelyn Caldwell is used to getting her hands dirty.

I got completely sucked in by this one; I inhaled the first 25% of my ebook in an hour! Can’t put it down, and I’m both delighted to experience that compelling-read feeling, and kind of confused because Echo Wife is nothing like the kind of stories I usually love. Clearly I should try new things more often!

WHAT DID YOU RECENTLY FINISH READING?

All the Murmuring Bones by A.G. Slatter, Angela Slatter
Genres: Fantasy
Goodreads

For fans of Naomi Novik and Katharine Arden, a dark gothic fairy tale from award-winning author Angela Slatter.

'Harrowing and beautiful, this is the grim, fairy-tale gothic you've been waiting for'CHRISTOPHER GOLDEN, New York Times bestselling author of Ararat

Long ago Miren O'Malley's family prospered due to a deal struck with the mer: safety for their ships in return for a child of each generation. But for many years the family have been unable to keep their side of the bargain and have fallen into decline. Miren's grandmother is determined to restore their glory, even at the price of Miren's freedom.

A spellbinding tale of dark family secrets, magic and witches, and creatures of myth and the sea; of strong women and the men who seek to control them.

I loved the first half of this, but it grew much weaker towards the finale. The story deserved a much better ending – I think it was too rushed. But I’ll be writing a review of this one, so you’ll get my full thoughts then.

WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL READ NEXT?

Thief of Songs by M.C.A. Hogarth
Representation: Genderqueer MC, agender partner, bi/pansexual MC/love interest, queernorm world, polyamory
Genres: Fantasy, Queer Protagonists
Goodreads

The lowland conquerers have taken everything from him, or so the composer Amet Emendexte-ilye was taught: prestige, autonomy, wealth, and most importantly, magic. But when one of them steals his fiancee, Amet avenges himself on them all by writing music and giving it away in defiance of the lowland laws. It is a very satisfactory vengeance, or so he thinks, until he discovers the kingdom's royal composer is planning to debut Amet's work-as folk music! So he's riding east to set the record straight. But he has no idea how compelling a decadent lowland hermaphrodite can be. And before it's over, this thief of songs may be stealing more than his music....

My fibromyalgia’s been kicking my ass this last little while, so I think I’m going to spoil myself by rereading a dearly beloved fave with soothingly low stakes. Beautiful prose, gorgeous fantasy, indulgent romance; sounds like just the thing when you’re a little bit miserable.

That’s it for this week! What are you reading?

Leave a Reply