WWW Wednesday: 6th Jan

Posted 6th January 2021 by Siavahda in WWW Wednesday / 0 Comments

I’ve decided that, at least for the foreseeable future, I’m going to be participating in WWW Wednesdays, which is a meme hosted over at Taking On a World of Words. To take part, you just answer the three questions below, and link back to TOaWoW!

WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

Nophek Gloss by Essa Hansen
Representation: Unspecified queer characters
Genres: Sci Fi
Goodreads

When a young man's planet is destroyed, he sets out on a single-minded quest for revenge across the galaxy in Nophek Gloss, the first book in this epic space opera trilogy by debut author Essa Hansen, for fans of Revenger and Children of Time.

Caiden's planet is destroyed. His family gone. And, his only hope for survival is a crew of misfit aliens and a mysterious ship that seems to have a soul and a universe of its own. Together they will show him that the universe is much bigger, much more advanced, and much more mysterious than Caiden had ever imagined. But the universe hides dangers as well, and soon Caiden has his own plans.

He vows to do anything it takes to get revenge on the slavers who murdered his people and took away his home. To destroy their regime, he must infiltrate and dismantle them from the inside, or die trying.

I just started reading Neophek Gloss, after its sequel made it onto KA Doore’s Queer Adult SFF of 2021 list (which you should absolutely check out). I’m not 100% sure I’ll finish it, but the writing is great and I’m fast falling in love with the spaceship, so! We’ll see? I definitely need to read more sci fi and this seems like an excellent place to start!

WHAT DID YOU RECENTLY FINISH READING?

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid
Representation: Bisexual MC, MC of colour (white-passing), lesbian love interest, gay secondary character,
Goodreads

Aging and reclusive Hollywood movie icon Evelyn Hugo is finally ready to tell the truth about her glamorous and scandalous life.

When she chooses unknown magazine reporter Monique Grant for the job, no one in the journalism community is more astounded than Monique herself. Why her? Why now? Monique is not exactly on top of the world. Her husband, David, has left her, and her career has stagnated. Regardless of why Evelyn has chosen her to write her biography, Monique is determined to use this opportunity to jumpstart her career.

Summoned to Evelyn’s Upper East Side apartment, Monique listens as Evelyn unfurls her story: from making her way to Los Angeles in the 1950s to her decision to leave show business in the late 80s, and, of course, the seven husbands along the way. As Evelyn’s life unfolds—revealing a ruthless ambition, an unexpected friendship, and a great forbidden love—Monique begins to feel a very a real connection to the actress. But as Evelyn’s story catches up with the present, it becomes clear that her life intersects with Monique’s own in tragic and irreversible ways.

I am very late to the Evelyn Hugo hype train, but in fairness, if sci fi is on the outer edges of my comfort zone, contemporary fiction is waaaaaaaay outside of it! But after seeing so many bloggers and reviewers and authors I trust rave about it, I finally gave it a go, and I am not sorry at all! This may not be even a little bit fantasy, but Reid still works magic via the voice of her first-person MCs, and I couldn’t put it down. It’s an incredible work exploring queerness and race and sexism and celebrity culture, all combined with characters you can’t help but adore even when they’re kind of terrible. It’s one of the best books I’ve read in a long time, and I suspect it’s one I’m going to come back to again and again. Even if it doesn’t sound like your sort of thing, I encourage you to give it a try.

WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL READ NEXT?

Across the Green Grass Fields (Wayward Children, #6) by Seanan McGuire
Representation: Intersex MC
Genres: Fantasy, Queer Protagonists
Goodreads

A young girl discovers a portal to a land filled with centaurs and unicorns in Seanan McGuire's Across the Green Grass Fields, a standalone tale in the Hugo and Nebula Award-wining Wayward Children series.

“Welcome to the Hooflands. We’re happy to have you, even if you being here means something’s coming.”

Regan loves, and is loved, though her school-friend situation has become complicated, of late.

When she suddenly finds herself thrust through a doorway that asks her to "Be Sure" before swallowing her whole, Regan must learn to live in a world filled with centaurs, kelpies, and other magical equines―a world that expects its human visitors to step up and be heroes.

But after embracing her time with the herd, Regan discovers that not all forms of heroism are equal, and not all quests are as they seem…

This is out next week, so it’s time to sit down with my arc! I can’t tell you how much I’m looking forward to it – I named this blog after the first book in this series, so that should say all that needs saying about how much I love these books!

What are you reading this week?

Leave a Reply